Strength to Carry a House

When I was little, I believed that when a man was fully grown up, he’d be able to lift a house. I remember talking with my little brother and sister and told them that surely our dad was able to lift a house, maybe even two. All dads were able to lift at least one though.

I have no idea where I had gotten this idea. Yet I believed it until about the third grade, never really bringing it up to anyone again. I thought it was just a fact that everyone knew. Then I saw the house my parents bought, being moved miles out into the country. It took tons of equipment just to get it off the ground and required a huge semi to haul it where it now resides. That’s when I found out that my dad could not, in fact, lift a house.

Just a couple years ago, I was talking with my siblings about this and they said they remembered how I used to tell them that. They hadn’t second guessed the reality of it either but somewhere along the lines, they just kinda let go of the thought. We laughed about it and I haven’t thought of it again for awhile.

Until today.

ourhouse

My husband and I, standing in front of our first owned house.

My husband wanted someone to go with me to the breastfeeding class I had signed up for. This town has a population of almost 15,000 people. And that’s the biggest town in the hour radius. It’s a very nice town and it’s growing. I’ve been there hundreds of times, many times by myself as well since becoming licensed at 15. It’s the town where we had our first date, second date, and where I met him all the time when he was visiting South Dakota. He’s never been nervous about me going there by myself. Ever.

Recently, he’s been very protective. About the class tonight, he said, “It will be dark in the hospital parking lot and I don’t want my pregnant wife there alone.” Before I was pregnant, when we were married even, he never would’ve been nervous about this. It’s exciting and sweet to see this transition in him and becoming the protective papa bear. And it had me thinking back to the time when I believed fathers could lift houses.

Because fathers and men do lift houses. If you really think about. They are the head of the household and I’ve never seen that more clearly until I stopped working full time this June. We live off of his income now. He’s proud of it but the way he talks about picking up more hours on Saturdays before the baby comes, I can tell he’s nervous about it too. The baby and I are fully depending on him to keep us afloat. You could say we should lean on God for this but I believe we are doing that by doing this.

I want you to realize that the head of every man is Christ, and the head of the woman is man, and the head of Christ is God.

1 Corinthians 11

A man is meant to receive respect from woman. It is said so many times in the Bible. And right in the 3rd chapter in the Bible, we are told that the husband will rule over the wife.

You need a lot of strength to carry a house. Strength that only God himself can give. I am glad that God has given that strength to my husband. Even though I’m sure there are times when my man feels weak and that he can’t carry our house, I still hear the strong faith that God has gifted to him. When he tells me after we receive the $1,300 unexpected car repair bill, “We will be okay. God will make sure we’re okay.” And I can hear my husband carrying our house with his strong back, given by the grace of God.

So maybe I was actually right all those years ago. Maybe men are supposed to carry a house when they grow up. I’m sure this sounds like an incredibly scary thing to do and truth be told, I’m glad I wasn’t given this responsibility. There have been times when I, being a selfish wife, was afraid my husband wasn’t going to be able to carry our house. And that’s when he reminds me that he isn’t carrying it by himself.

So do not fear, for I am with you;
    do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
    I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Isaiah 41

 This is what the Lord says:

“Cursed is the one who trusts in man,
    who draws strength from mere flesh
    and whose heart turns away from the Lord.

Jeremiah 17

And this is the clearest explanation of it all:

Do you not know?
    Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
    the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
    and his understanding no one can fathom.

He gives strength to the weary
    and increases the power of the weak.

Even youths grow tired and weary,
    and young men stumble and fall;
but those who hope in the Lord
    will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
    they will run and not grow weary,
    they will walk and not be faint.

Isaiah 40

Leave a Reply

